A mistake never to be repeated

aI only have myself to blame. The obsession with Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles has hit epic proportions. After playing him the theme song once, and I mean once, we now have to play it the second we wake up and the second I get home from work. He literally greets me with ‘I can have Ninja Turtles once’ as soon as I walk in the door. Lis and I had to impress upon him that he can listen to it once and once only in the morning and evening without crying and throwing a tantrum when it is over, or there will be no more. I am secretly hoping he throws a tantrum so it can be no more. Never again will I make the same mistake.

It doesn’t stop there though. When he has exhausted his allocation of iPad Turtles tunes, he then makes Lis and I sing the bloody song. There are now times when I catch myself humming it for no apparent reason and I hate myself for it. When that isn’t enough, or mummy and daddy get well and truly over the song, he himself can sing most of it now and that is without actually watching one episode of the programme. Lord only knows what will happen when he actually does watch it!

There is no more Gymbaroo. H Boss got quite a lot out of it when he first started going, but now he just seems bored and doesn’t listen to anyone when there. He just wants to do his own thing and mummy has had enough. I was getting a phone call every Monday and you could tell by the tone in Lisa’s voice that it had not gone well. Clearly he isn’t that into it, so that is some money saved on our end. We continue with Little Kickers though, which he absolutely loves. Good lad.

This week has also been the week that we have started to push his dinner time back to 6pm. That means that we bring our dinner time forward to 6pm which in turn means I am starving by about 8.30pm. I know this is something that has to happen, and when he is eating with us and eating the same food as us, he eats really well, feeds himself and everything. When he is not eating with us the struggle is real. We have reverted to half feeding him again as that is what it takes to get him to eat. I am slightly more at ease with this because trust me when I say it pissed me off no end when it started, but lots of people that we talk to are all at the same point with their kids at the same age. He loves his food, but gets so easily distracted.

Harrison really doesn’t take long to rev it up when he wakes up. One second you are hearing ‘mummy, daddy’ from his bedroom as he has just arisen, the next second he is tearing about, wanting you to play with him and creating all sorts of havoc wherever he can. I wish that I could do that on a daily basis! This week has been good though, his little personality is really coming out now. He is a bit of a perfectionist and certainly knows what he wants, and most of the time it is really bloody cute. Happy fathering.